The Vedas

They are the oldest texts in Hinduism and some of the most important. They have influenced Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism. Beside their wonderfully spiritual value they also give sort of history of  India everyday life 4thousand years ago.
It is hard to say when they originally came into existence  put they were passed down orally intill Vyasa Krishna Dwaipayana compiled them around the time Lord Krishna, so about 1300B.C. They are believes to be handed down sages and seers from the Gods themselves, but of course at this point it’s kinda of unknown.

Vegas are composed of four books which are then further divided into four parts the Samhitas (hymns), the Brahmanas (rituals), the Aranyakas (theologies) and the Upanishads (philosophies). The books of the Veda are Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda, and Atharava Veda.

Now this is where it gets confusing to me, I only really have the web and books to use for research, seeing as I live in the Backwoods apparently, so the different sources are not just unclear but they really don’t add up either. Some have certain books grouped together and others just plain confused me. Here’s what I think I know
Sama Veda contains the chants that Hindus still use today
Yajur Veda is a kin to a guide for priests on the different rituals
Atharava Veda is what I’m guessing is sorta of a magick book
Rig Veda is just hymns and mantra
This is just my guesses! Anyone who wants to clear me up on anything please do so!

So of course this week is wrap~up week for Hinduism. This has been an enjoyable religion to study in-spite the confusion. Next month is Native American I anticipate alot of confusion but I know I will learn alot atleast!

Blessings
Lucy

One response to this post.

  1. Ya the Vedas seem complicated. Looking forward to the next topic =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

