MOOOOOO

So I have always though that cows were viewed as sacred for Hindus, but I have found out different. They aren’t so much as revered as just relied apon heavily, they provide more alive than they do dead. Plus they found that it was expensive to slaughter them. The cow is honored at least once a year, on Gopastami. On this “Cow Holiday,” cows are washed and decorated in the temple and given offerings in the hope that her gifts of life will continue.

There are other websites that go in to that fact that they are sacred and they should be revered and worshiped but I found more that say they are just a moot point. It does doesn’t really change anything about the religion or my views on it just knocked a preconceived notion I had.

On another note I would like to thank Lee over at A Clear and Empty Mind for his encouraging words! It helps to know that the blog is being read and enjoyed. I’m not good with the linkage and stuff but I’m sure if your search for his Blog you’ll find it. It is a great blog on Buddhism 🙂

Hopefully I’ll be back again this weekend have quite decided what I’m going to talk about but I’m hoping to talk alot this weekend.

Blessings
Lucy

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joanna Wilson on April 15, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    That was one I was curious and waiting to hear on 🙂 It’d be nice to hear what the festival day for the cow is and what it’s uses are but that diverges a little from the religious aspect in some ways.

    Reply

    • Yeah I thinnk alot of people think the same way, but they just are more useful to them alive then dead and that why they are left alone. Plus from what I read most Hindus are vegans in some form.

      Reply

  2. Teehee. Moot. Cows.

    Reply

  3. Wow, I had no idea. I want to laugh, but I’m not sure at I’m laughing at. Probably more at my preconceived notions lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

