Buddhism Basics

The 3 Jewels
1.Buddha~the Awakened One
2.Dharma~Buddha’s teachings and what they pertain to
3.Sangha~community of practice
The 4 Noble Truths
1. Life entails dissatisfaction~duhka
2. Dissatisfaction is a result of clinging, craving~trshna
3. There’s an end to all dissatisfaction~nirvana
4. The way to the end of dissatisfaction is the path~maggha
The Path
1. Right view
2. Right thought
3. Right speech
4. Right action
5. Right livelihood
6. Right effort
7. Right mindfulness
8. Right concentration
The Cardinal Precepts
1. Not killing
2. Not stealing
3. Not lying
4. No intoxicants
5. No sexual abuse
The 3 Marks of Existence~ The 3 Dharma Seals
1. impermanence
2. No abiding; separate self
3. Duhkha/nirvana
The 3 Poisons
1. Greed
2. Hate
3. Delusion
The 4 Brahmaviharas~Sublime States
Near enemy. Far enemy
loving kindness. selfless. Hatred
Compassion. Pity. Contempt
Sympathetic joy. Boredom. Jealousy
Equanimity. Indifference. Aversion
The 4 Bodhisattva Vows
Beings are numberless; I vow to awaken them.
delusions are inexhaustible; I vow to end them.
Dharma gates are boundless; I vow to enter them.
Buddha’s way is unsurpassable; I vow to become it.

Hopefully in the next month I will cover and explain each of these! This is a very detailed and involved religion but I am enjoying covering it. :~)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: