What I learned~Atheism/Agnostic

Well I must I actually learned a lot about these 2 religion.I knew they weren’t evil but aside from that I never really looked any deeper. It really threw me to learn that there are atheistic religions, I never even considered the possibility that atheists were religious. I knew nothing about the secular human movement. I basically knew nothing about atheism, I am really disappointed with myself for that. Hopefully everyone who read this months blog learned and broke down stigmas associated with it.

I am a little regretfully that I am ending this month early but I also know I have covered the topic as much as I would have if I had takin the whole month. If I hadn’t rushed it I can safely say it would have fallen by the way side these next few weeks.

I tried not to cover the negative part of Atheism, I usually don’t with any, but I didn’t even give the outsiders links with opinions this time. My explanation for that is there are so much negativity already attached and most outsiders don’t voice just opinions they launch all out attacks, I don’t think people reading would have be able to overlook their negative feelings if I posted more fuel for the fodder.  Maybe I should and maybe I still might but I feel doubtful I will.

Enjoy your Holidays whatever you choose to celebrate! I’ll see ya next year with Buddhism! I’m really excited to be starting the year with such a peaceful religion!

Blessing
Lucy

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jack Bernath on December 31, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Dear Lucy,
    I would like to correct a misconception about atheism, agnosticism and humanism. They are NOT RELIGIONS!! See the Dec.6 post on this site. It defines religion as: a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of life and the universe, especially when considered as the creation of a supernatural agency, or human beings’ relation to that which they regard as holy, sacred, spiritual, or divine.

    I fully agree with this definition. Atheism etc. is not religion because it does not profess a belief in anything spiritual or supernatural. We deny the existence of any higher power or supernatural influence now or ever. Please don’t misconstrue unbelief with religion, which requires FAITH in something that is unprovable.

    Thanks for listening.
    Jack Bernath
    Charlotte, NC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

