So there actually are religions that are technically Atheistic, I plan on covering all but Buddhism because thats next months topic.

Jainismis an Indian religion that prescribes a path of non-violence towards all living beings. Its philosophy and practice emphasize the necessity of self-effort to move the soul towards divine consciousness and liberation.Jainism contains many elements that are somewhat similar to parts of Hinduism and Buddhism. The world’s almost 4 million Jains are almost entirely located in India. There are about 1,410 in Canada.

Jainist beliefs and practices:

The universe exists as a series of layers, both heavens and hells. It had no beginning and will have no ending. It consists of:

The supreme abode: This is located at the top of the universe and is where Siddha, the liberated souls, live.
 The upper world: 30 heavens where celestial beings live.
Middle world: the earth and the rest of the universe.
Nether world: 7 hells with various levels of misery and punishments
The Nigoda, or base: where the lowest forms of life reside
Universe space: layers of clouds which surround the upper world
Space beyond: an infinite volume without soul, matter, time, medium of motion or medium of rest.

Everyone is bound within the universe by one’s karma — the accumulated evil deeds that one has done. (The Jainist definition of karma differs from the Hindu and Buddhist meaning. To a follower of Jainism, all karma is bad. To Hindus and Buddhists, karma can result from a good or a bad deed.)

Moksha (liberation from an endless succession of lives through reincarnation) is achieved by enlightenment, which can be attained only through asceticism.

Jainism is based on three general principles called the three Ratnas (jewels). They are:
Right faith.
Right knowledge.
Right action.

They are expected to follow five principles of living:
Ahimsa: “non violence in all parts of a person — mental, verbal and physical.” 3 Committing an act of violence against a human, animal, or even a vegetable generates negative karma which in turn adversely affects one’s next life.
Satya: speaking truth; avoiding falsehood
Asteya: to not steal from others
Brahma-charya: (soul conduct); remaining sexually monogamous to one’s spouse only
Aparigraha: detach from people, places and material things. Avoiding the collection of excessive material possessions, abstaining from over-indulgence, restricting one’s needs, etc.

 Jains follow a vegetarian diet. (At least one information source incorrectly states that they follow a frutarian diet — the practice of only eating that which will not kill the plant or animal from which it is taken. e.g. milk, fruit, nuts.) They are not permitted to eat root vegetables because of the many living creatures that they contain. Also, to uproot a root vegetable kills it.

 They often read their sacred texts daily.

 Jains are recommended to pass through four stages during their lifetime:
Brahmacharya-ashrama: the life of a student
Gruhasth-ashrama: family life
Vanaprasth-ashrama: family and social services
Sanyast-ashrama: life as a monk; a period of renunciation

 Divisions among Jains

There are two groups of Jains:

The Digambaras (literally “sky clad” or naked): Their monks carry asceticism to the point of rejecting even clothing (even when they appear in public).

 The Shvetambaras(literally “white clad”): their monks wear simple white robes. The laity are permitted to wear clothes of any color.

Jainism is a dualistic religion with the universe made up of matter and souls. The universe, and the matter and souls within it, is eternal and uncreated, and there is no omnipotent creator god in Jainism. There are, however, “gods” and other spirits who exist within the universe and Jains believe that the soul can attain “godhood”, however none of these supernatural beings exercise any sort of creative activity or have the capacity or ability to intervene in answers to prayers.

There is alot more about info this religion I just covered the jist of it here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: