Baha’i Sacred Texts

So I was about to wrap this all up when I realized I hadn’t covered anything on Baha’i and their sacred Texts! So I guess one more post before the wrap up the.

One of the most sacred of books is Kitab-i-Aqdas, written by Bahá’u’lláh. It is often refered to as The Aqdas “the Most Holy Book”, “the Book of Laws” and occasionally the Book of Aqdas. This text forms the book of laws in the Bahá’í Faith.Much of it’s content deals with ethical exhortations and addresses to various individuals, groups, and places. The Kitáb-i-Aqdas also discusses the establishment of Bahá’í administrative institutions, Bahá’í religious practices, laws of personal status, criminal law, ethical exhortations, social principles, miscellaneous laws and abrogations, and prophecies.Baha’is believe the Aqdas supersedes and succeeds previous revelations such as the Quran and the Bible.
The book was divided into six main themes in the Synopsis and Codification by Shoghi Effendi:
The appointment of `Abdu’l-Bahá as the successor of Bahá’u’lláh
Anticipation of the Institution of the Guardianship
The Institution of the Universal House of Justice
Laws, Ordinances and exhortations
Specific admonitions, reproofs and warnings
Miscellaneous subjects
The laws were divided in to further categories ;
A. Prayer
B. Fasting
C. Laws of personal status
D. Miscellaneous laws, ordinances and exhortations

Other important texts are;
Epistle to the Son of the Wolf is the last major work of Bahá’u’lláh, founder of the Bahá’í Faith, before his death in 1892. It is a letter written to a Muslim cleric, a violent opponent of the Bahá’ís who, along with his father (called by Bahá’u’lláh “the wolf”), also a Muslim cleric, had put to death a number of Bahá’ís.In this work Bahá’u’lláh quotes extensively from his own previously revealed scriptures. This makes a large portion of the work a summary of excerpts on critical concepts expressed in previous works in a condensed form.
The Four Valleys was written around 1857 in Baghdad, in response to questions of Shaykh ‘Abdu’r-Rahman-i-Talabani, the “honored and indisputable leader” of the Qádiríyyih Order of Sufism. He never identified as a Bahá’í, but was known to his followers as having high respect and admiration for Bahá’u’lláh.
In the book, Bahá’u’lláh describes the qualities and grades of four types of mystical wayfarers: “Those who progress in mystic wayfaring are of four kinds.” The four are, roughly:
Those who journey first in the valley of self transformed to God-pleasing attributes.
Those who journey by rejecting self and patterning their lives after Divine reason.
Those who journey purely by the love of God.
Those who journey in what is termed a “secret” and “bottomless sea.”
This last is considered the highest or truest form of mystic union
The Seven Valleys was written around 1860 in Baghdad after Bahá’u’lláh had returned from the Sulaymaniyah region in Kurdistan. The work was written in response to questions posed by Shaykh Muhyi’d-Din, a judge, who was a follower of the Qádiríyyih Order of Sufism.About the time of writing to Bahá’u’lláh, he quit his job, and spent the rest of his life wandering around Iraqi Kurdistan.
This work has been called by Shoghi Effendi his “greatest mystical composition”,and in the West was one of the earliest available books of Bahá’u’lláh, first translated directly to French in 1905, and English in 1906.
The style of The Seven Valleys is highly poetic, though not composed in verse. Nearly every line of the text contains rhymes, and plays on words, which can be lost in translation. As the recipient was of Sufi origin, Bahá’u’lláh used historical and religious subtleties which sometimes used only one or a few words to refer to Qur’anic verses, traditions, and well-known poems. In English, frequent footnotes are used to convey certain background information.
The book follows the path of the soul on a spiritual journey passing through different stages, from this world to other realms which are closer to God, as first described by the 12th Century Sufi poet Farid al-Din Attar in his Conference of the Birds. Bahá’u’lláh in the work explains the meanings and the significance of the seven stages.In the introduction, Bahá’u’lláh says “Some have called these Seven Valleys, and others, Seven Cities.” The stages are accomplished in order, and the goal of the journey is to follow “the Right Path”, “abandon the drop of life and come to the sea of the Life-Bestower”, and “gaze on the Beloved”.

There are many other sacred books and writings in the Baha’i religion but these are some of the most important to them.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: