Hmmm…………???

So I have looked up Baha’i on other websites outside of their own to get more of a perceptive on the religion. I went to religoustolerence.org and beliefnet.com, I figured they would be the best bet at giving a less skewed version of the religion.

I found they believe God is unknowable and transcendent, that’s why he has sent and will continue to send prophets through which the Holy Spirit  reveals “The Word of God” through them. There have been 10 of these prophets so far Adam, Abraham, Moses, Krishna, Zoroaster, Buddha, Jesus Christ, Mohammed, The Bab, Baha’u’llah. But their teaching are all derived from the last one, along with all their holy days, which are; April 21, 29 and May 2: Baha’u’llah’s public declaration of his mission, May 23: Bab’s declaration of his mission, May 29: Passing of Baha’u’llah, July 9: Martyrdom of the Bab, October 20: Birth of Bab, November 12: Birth of Baha’u’llah.

There is no clergy,sacraments or rituals. But they do have Prayers that they use, which some they believe brings them closer to God. There are 3 daily prayers that they must say…….it goes as follows;

 I bear witness, O my God, that Thou hast created me to know Thee and to worship Thee. I testify, at this moment, to my powerlessness and to Thy might, to my poverty and to Thy wealth.
     There is none other God but Thee, the Help in Peril, the Self-Subsisting.
Bahá’u’lláh

I am more confused now then I was……..I guess that’s a good thing seeing as how I am still at the beginning, just means there is more reasearch ahead for me.

Blessings
Lucy

Leave a Reply

