Christian witches; Revisited

So I actually contacted a Christian coven in Columbus and one of the members was kind enough to answer some question and give me some websites for further research! HORAY! These are the questions and answers I got…

How do you Blend Christianity and Witchcraft?
Witchcraft is an art form or a practice.  Witchcraft can be practiced within a Religious System (Wicca, Christianity, Hinduism, etc) or outside of any Religious System (honoring Earth & Nature and having no deities or god/desses).  One can be a Christian and a Plumber at the same time as one is a Religion (Christian) and one is a Craft (Plumber).  One can be a Wiccan and a MetalSmith or Jeweler in the same way.  This is very confusing to uninformed people and to those who do not study to find Truth.  Many people quote the Old Testament Scripture Exodus 22:18 “Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live” without asking:  What was the original Hebrew word before it was translated into English?  The Hebrew word is “kashaph” which means “to use power gained from the assistance or control of evil spirits”.  This is NOT what a practitioner of Witchcraft does.  This would be more closely aligned to some Dark Art or a variety of Satanism.  In the same way, the New Testament verse Galatians 5:19-21 is usually referenced:  “The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God .”  And again we must ask:  what was the original Greek word before it was translated into English?  The Greek word is “pharmakeia” which means “one who prepares or uses drugs or poisons”.  Again, this is NOT what a practitioner of Witchcraft does.  This would be more closely aligned to someone who provides or abuses drugs, including prescription drugs.  It is interesting to note that we get our modern-day words “pharmacist” & “pharmacy” from a word that is prohibited in Scripture.  Compare this to the Greek word “Iatros” which means “physician” which comes from the Greek word “Iaomai” which means “to cure, to heal, to make whole”.  This is more aligned with the Practice of Witchcraft.
 
Do you believe in the devil?
Personally, I do believe in the devil “Satan”, who is referred to not only in Christianity but also in Islam and Judaism as well.  I do not refer to the devil (Satan) as “Lucifer”—this is a mistranslation of the Latin Vulgate version by Jerome. 
 
”                           ” Hell?
As I do believe in reincarnation, I do not believe in the concept of Hell as most Christians/Catholics etc do.  I believe that after each life there is a “life review” with a possible time of judgment or reward, but not ETERNAL fire and judgment.  Some say that “earthbound” ghosts who have not gone to the light are in the phase of judgment and will remain so until they release (or are released from) whatever holds them in this state.  Again, another area I am still growing in and continue to study!! 🙂 
 
Do you still follow the bible?
I look to Scripture for guidance, but I read all sorts of holy texts (Quran, Vedic, lost texts, etc).  When I look to Scripture to see how to live my life, I look at how it was originally “in the Garden” and also look at what Yeshua (Jesus) the Christ taught in Matthew 5-7. 
 
 
She also goes on to state that “I worship ONE God who is both male & female and yet neither as GOD is not human.  Many believe, as I do, that the female aspects of GOD are the Holy Spirit, El Shaddai, the Shekinah Glory, Wisdom/Sophia, etc.”
 
This is just kinda the tip of the iceberg on the rest of the info I am still wading through. I can kinda see why Christianity doesn’t acknowledge them as they really pull from other God-following religions too, so I’m guessing the term “Christian” witch is just a generalization.
 
I have the websites if anyone would like to do their own research in to this subject matter and would happily share.
 
Upcoming Bloggs include, My own Bio in to witchcraft, Reincarnation and the Afterlife, Ghosts and the Dead, and of Course more on Druidry. If there are any question you would like answered specifically, let me know and I will do my best 🙂
 
Blessings
Lucy
2 responses to this post.

  1. Soo, really, that one link was kind of right. They’re not “Witches” as in, they don’t follow the Religion, but they think of it more as a craft. That’s pretty interesting. They’re basically Christians who follow some of the pagan traditions.

    Following the other books as well as the Bible gets iffy for me, though. Studying them is one thing, but the Bible is supposed to be the, well, Bible. And I can see how the Spirit can be seen as the female aspects.

    Interesting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

