Unsulted or not?

So it looks like this might be an everyday thing…….ah well

So I am corresponding with a Witch from the Gallia county area, while I am happy he has responding back, I think I may be a little insulted by his last answer!I asked for any info he was willing to give and if he was a solitary practitioner, his responds bach was ” Yes I am a Solitary, but your going to have to be more specific. I don’t want to just put information out there.”?? Scratch the insulted part, I think it’s just kinda of funny…….but I am supposed to be looking at this as someone from the outside. So here I sit trying to come up with questions I would want the answers for if I hadn’t ever studied. It is harder than I thought. What questions you ask a Wiccian?

Blessings
Lucy

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by matt on October 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    well, from that viewpoint, I guess you could ask him to define what his religion is, exactly, what are the names of the deity (or deities) he follows , what are some of the basics tenets of that particular faith, what are the religions holy days(what do they celebrate), and what does he do to celebrate them as a solitary practitioner. Conversely, if you can find a coven you might be able to compare and contrast between worship services/ celebrations on the holy days between the two modes of practice. hope this helps! good luck on your journey, and we’ll be watching, lol

    Reply

    • It does help because I have no clue what to ask him! lol I’ve got a few leads on some covens in different areas so I think I am going to try and contact them too, I had thought this one was a coven but oh well.
      And Thanks 😀

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jaz on October 3, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Not to mention that Wicca and any of the Pagan religions are very different to different people. Because people are different so is what they believe and how they like to do things. Just because you and he are both Wiccan doesn’t mean you believe the same thing. That’s one of the benefits of ‘following’ a religion that isn’t structured. There are a few things they all have in common, but lots of other things are different. Look at Christianity for instance. A few things are the same, sure, but they can’t seem to agree on anything else, even the stuff that is ‘structured’ and written down.To some it’s literal, some figurative, some think it means this, or that, you get the point.

    I always pictured Wicca as being more spiritual than religious, so everything is open to interpretation and that’s okay. It’s not so much (to me) that you (anyone) believe -just this- it’s that you believe something and having belief in general makes you a better more well rounded person.

    Ask him questions you already know the answer to, to get a different perspective on things. Ask him things that people generally ask you when they want to know more about your religion. I’m sure that happens…
    Maybe why he doesn’t practice with a coven, or if it’s even available. I can’t Imagine if you wanted to practice, alone would be preferable..
    What things he generally does to show his faith. Most of the Wiccan speakers that I’ve had in classes always said they never did any of the spell stuff.. or not often. Maybe what he’s come across as far as people not understanding his faith and how he deals with it…

    eh? Just a thought.

    Reply

    • Thanks you have given me alot of help! Between you and Matt I can actually answer his emails with question instead of just pleads for info! Thanks guys! Glad your reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

